My my My my
The 2012 Passim Iguana Music Fund Application Process is Now Open!
Over $100,000 total has been granted to more than 65 artists since 2008.

Click here to apply for a 2012 Iguana Music Fund grant.

About Passim's Iguana Music Fund

The Iguana Music Fund, a program of the nonprofit performance arts organization Passim, fosters a vibrant and exciting music community in New England through seed grants to aspiring local artists for significant career-building or who are providing community service through music. The Iguana Music Fund awards grants between $500 and $2,000 to individual artists with an affiliation to New England either by residence or tour history for specific career building projects. Areas of support may include (but are not limited to): recording or manufacturing assistance, publicity & marketing support, instrument repair or replacement, additional equipment & instruments, special projects and other specific activities promoting artistic and/or professional growth.

Over $100,000 total has been granted to more than 65 artists through the Iguana Music Fund. 2012 marks it's 5th year.

Iguana Music Fund in the Press

May 20, 2011|By Jonathan PerryGlobe Correspondent
"Paying it Forward: Club Passim’s Iguana Music Fund gives local musicians valuable boosts in money and spirit"

The Boston Globe. For entire article, click here.

Application FAQ

Is there a catch?


No, there is no catch or hidden agenda! The application process is FREE and unbiased. Each and every application is reviewed by the committee and winners are merit-based. Hint: following the instructions on the application makes the committee very happy!


I have applied before, can I apply again?




I have won before, can I apply again?



Can any genre of music apply?


Can full bands apply?


Are there any requirements of me should I win? 

We have a few things we ask of winners so that the committee can be informed of how the grant was used and to spread the word about the Iguana Music Fund so that we can help other artists in the future. The committee asks that grant winners: 

  • Send out an e-mail announcement to all lists that you have been awarded an Iguana Music Fund Grant
  • Upload the Iguana Winner widget to sites which will be provided
  • Make announcement on all social networking sites; Facebook, twitter, etc.
  • Work any press angles. If sending out a press release for a show or CD release add the Iguana Fund news.
  • Send Iguana Fund a 6 and 12 month detailed report on progress.
  • Perform at Iguana Night at Club Passim (if available) promote show, invite fans, do an e-mail blast, social networking announcements, press, etc.
  • Provide the committee with your work (such as a CD) when it is completed 

I did not fill out my application by October 15,  can I still apply?


Applications need to be in by October 15 - we've allowed plenty of time!


Do I need to do anything after I apply, such as check in with anyone?

You do not need to check in with anyone. If the committee needs more information, they will contact you. Because of the large number of applications the committee receives, we can only notify winners, not everyone that applies. 

If I have any other questions, who should I contact?


Although we try to answer all questions we would like all applicants to use the FAQ and application to answer any questions you may have. The application is designed to be very straightforward.

If you have a question, you may e-mail , no phone calls please. The committee is not available at Passim. 



2011 Iguana Music Fund Grant Winners

Kristin Andreassen (Miles of Music Camp)
Rose Polenzani (Three Mile Island Songwriting Retreat)
Zachariah Hickman
Mike Olson (Lake Street Dive)
Charlie Rose
Jake Hill
Peter Bitenc (The Sweetback Sisters)
Nerissa & Katryna Nields
Sarah Parkington (Parkington Sisters)
Emma Beaton
Jennifer Kimball
Rose Cousins
Maeve Gilchrist
Alison Rapetti
Della Mae
Tim Gearan
Alastair Moock
Jess Tardy
Ryan Quinn
Duncan Wickel

2010 Iguana Music Fund Grant Winners

Kristin Andreassen
Andy Cambria & Sarah Green
Hanneke Cassel
Michael J. Epstein
Mark Erelli
Margaret Glaspy
Dave Godowsky
Zachariah Hickman
Naseem Khuri
Amanda Kowalski
Kimber Ludiker
Austin Nevins
Dami Noah
Rose Polenzani
Nikola Radan
Maria Sangiolo
Randall Williams

2009 Iguana Music Fund Grant Winners

Dinty Child
Mike Rivard
Sam Kassirer
Alastair Moock
Margaret Glaspy
Ruth Mendelson
Alec Spiegelman
Jamie Manning
Jacqueline Francis
David Wax
Matthew Belyea
Kaitlin Berreckman

2008 Iguana Music Fund Grant Winners

Tom Bianchi
Nate Borofsky (Girlyman)
Kier Byrnes (Three Day Threshold)
Beth Colegrove
Chuck E. Costa
Tim Ericksen
Jason Myles Goss
Anne Heaton
Kate Klim
Paddy League
Ruth Mendelson
Sarah Michel
Rose Polenzani (Sub Rosa)
Sean Staples
Miss Tess
Lloyd Thayer
Randall Williams