My my My my

About Gahanna Hockey

The Gahanna Lincoln Golden Lions Ice Hockey program began in 1998 as a club team. In the 2002-2003 season the program advanced to the varsity level and in 2004-2005 a junior varsity team was added. Players must reside in the Gahanna-Jefferson School District. The season begins with tryouts in late October, and concludes with the Blue Jackets Cup (Conference Championship Tournament) in early-February. The Ohio playoffs follow, with the championship game at Nationwide Arena in early March.

The Lions are members of the Capital Hockey Conference, a 17 team varsity conference composed primarily out of central Ohio teams. Historically, Upper Arlington is the Conference's oldest OHSAA team, becoming a varsity sport in 1977. In the 1990's, programs began at Thomas Worthington and Worthington Kilbourne (1998), followed shortly thereafter by St. Charles (1999). Teams formerly played in SWOHSHL, then a Columbus-Dayton-Cincinnati league.

In fall 2002, the SWOHSHL experienced rapid growth with the addition of Dublin Coffman, Dublin Scioto, and Gahanna Lincoln. As a result of having 7 teams, those schools banded together to form the CHC in 2003. The Conference then added Dublin Jerome in 2004 and St. Francis DeSales in 2006, Olentangy Liberty in 2007, Olentangy and Olentangy Orange in 2008, Bishop Watterson and Archbishop Moeller in 2009, and New Albany in 2015. Springboro became the 15th member in 2016. Olentagy Berlin and Columbus Academy are the 16th and 17th members of the conference joining during the 2018-2019 season. 

GahannaIceHockey.com supports the Gahanna Lincoln Ice Hockey program, and this website is the unofficial home of the Gahanna Lincoln Golden Lions Varsity Ice Hockey Team. Check back frequently for new features and information about the varsity and junior varsity ice hockey programs in Gahanna, as well as Gahanna Ice Hockey ice and inline programs .