Home
 
 
My my My my
 
 
 
 
 
 

 Opportunity for HS Community Service

OYA needs volunteers for all events/sports activities throughout all of our seasons. This includes volleyball games, basketball games, softball games and Tournaments.  

The organization needs students to work as hall monitors at the schools during Volleyball/Basketball games.  This is a great opportunity to earn community service hours. You can sign up with a friend as 2 students are assigned to cover event dates on the OYA schedule.  

Hours will be given on a first come first served basis. The available times and locations are posted below. Scroll all the way down.
Pick your dates and email to as soon as possible. Check this schedule often in case there are any changes.

You must follow these instructions: (if you don’t you will not get scheduled)

After you look over the locations and dates that are still available, select several dates that you are available. Email        OYAVolunteerMe@yahoo.com
... In the email give your first and last name and your Sandburg/Providence/Andrew student #. List the locations and dates that you are available. Provide an general idea of how many dates you would like to be scheduled for -and- what location you prefer. If you want to be scheduled with a friend, you should add their name and student #.

OYA-Girls will return your email with the dates you are assigned.  NEW DATES WILL ALSO BE ADDED BELOW & are TBA

Once you are assigned you are responsible to be there on approximately 5 minutes early and to stay for the entire scheduled time.

All volunteers who apply should take this responsibility seriuosly - Community Service Hours are earned and the community service program requires you to be cuorteous and respectfull at all times!

The final 2018 VOLLEYBALL schedule is be posted here, so check it frequently. Your job description for hall monitor is posted below this schedule. Please read it completely.

 

OYA Volleyball Volenteer Schedule - Hall Monitor -  Century Jr High

  

Date

Time

Open/Filled

Name

Name

Mon, Sep 24

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Filled

Cara H.

Ally B.

Tue, Sep 25

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Filled

Cara H.

Ally B.

Wed, Sep 26

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Filled

220193

Kristen D.

200192

Kevin D.

Thu, Sep 27    

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Filled

Ally B.

OYA Staff

Fri, Sep 28      

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Filled

OYA Staff

OYA Staff

Mon, Oct 1     

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Filled

210565

Cassandra B.

210558

Haleigh B.

Tue, Oct 2

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Filled

210565

Cassandra B.

 210558 

Haleigh B.

Wed, Oct 3    

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Open

OYA Staff

OYA Staff

Thu, Oct 4      

08:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Filled

210565

Cassandra B.

 210558

Haleigh B.

Tue, Oct 9

07:00 PM - 09:30 PM

Open

OYA Staff

OYA Staff

Wed, Oct 10

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Filled

220193

Kristen D.

200932

Kevin D.

Thu, Oct 11

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Filled

220314

Rami I.

220420

Daniel M.

Mon, Oct 15

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Filled

220193

Kristen D.

200932

Kevin D.

Tue, Oct 16

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Filled

220314

Rami I.

220420

Daniel M.

Wed, Oct 17  

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Filled

220193

Kristen D.

200932

Kevin D.

Thu, Oct 18

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Filled

220193

CANCELLATION*

OYA STAFF

200932

CANCELLATION*

OYA STAFF

Fri, Oct 19

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Open

OYA STAFF

OYA STAFF

Mon, Oct 22

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Open

Max E.

Ally B.

Tue, Oct 23

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Filled

220314

Rami I.

220420

Daniel M.

Wed, Oct 24

*Loebe Center

06:30 PM - 09:00 PM

Open

 

 

Thu, Oct 25

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Filled

220314

Rami I.

220420

Daniel M.

Fri Oct 26

*Allstar Game/s

OP SPORTSPLEX

6:00 PM - 09:00 PM      

Mon, Oct 29

07:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Open

 

 

Tue, Oct 30

07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Open

 

 

Thu, Nov 1

07:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Open

 

 

Thu, Nov 5

*Meadow Ridge

06:30 PM - 09:00 PM

Open

 

 

Mon, Nov 6

*Meadow Ridge

06:30 PM - 09:00 PM

Open

 

 

Tue, Nov 7

*Meadow Ridge     

06:30 PM - 09:00 PM

Open

 

 

Thu, Nov 8

*Meadow Ridge

06:30 PM - 09:00 PM

Open

 

 

Fri, Nov 9

*Meadow Ridge

6:30 - 09:00 PM Open     

Tues, Nov 13

Playoffs

6:30 - 9:30 PM Open    

Wed, Nov 14

Playoffs

6:30 - 9:30 PM Open    

Thu, Nov 15

Playoffs

6:30 - 9:30 PM Open    

Fri, Nov 16 

Playoffs

6:30 - 9:30 PM Open    

 

 

 

Hall Monitor Job Description--Remember this is an important job--BE RESPONSIBLE. OYA-G will be monitoring the schools frequently to confirm your attendance and will send a verification to your respective school's Community Service faculty-coordinator.

1. Be on Time. When you arrive go to the gym and introduce yourself to one of the coaches. Sign in on their scorebook page, or the equivalent per sport, for that night’s game. Make sure you do this--this is documentation that you were there.  DO NOT ASK THE JANITOR TO SIGN YOUR FORM.  THE OYA-G STAFF OR EVENT COACH IS RESPONSIBLE FOR SIGNING YOU IN AND ATTENDANCE VERIFICATION!


2. Two students are scheduled each night.  One student is stationed at the door, the other in the hallway. The outside doors are to remain closedDo not prop open. If parents and players arrive late you will need to let them in. You are there to let them in and out. Be attentive. If only one person is scheduled or shows up, you should position yourself at the door.


3. Only water is allowed in the gyms. Food and sports drinks are prohibited.


4. Hallway student-Locate yourself where you can monitor the hallways and bathroomsYou are the hall monitors and should make sure everyone is following the rules. Kids are not to be roaming the halls and they are to be accompanied to the bathrooms by their parents. They are not to go near the classrooms.


5. Politely convey the rules. Do not get into an altercation with anyone--if you need assistance, ask for help from one of the coaches.

6. Before you leave check the bathrooms. Report anything that looks out of place to the custodial staff.


Thank you!